Roasted Red Pepper Dip

14 Apr

I love dips.

Hummus.  Tzatziki.  Articoke.  Bean.  Guacamole. 

Whatever. I like it.

I love, love, love dips made with red pepper.

On Easter, at my mom’s house, there were a few dips for us to enjoy including a roasted red pepper dip (!) and one called seed-sar.

My mother informed me that her friend had made the dips herself and when she told me the ingredients, I was shocked. There were basically no ingredients at all.

I got the recipe and attempted to duplicate it tonight and I am proud to say that I made, from scratch, my very own roasted red pepper dip.

It’s so good, I want to have a party and serve it.

Here is the recipe (thanks to Jane for typing it out and emailing it me):

2 large red bell peppers  OR 2 large red bell peppers from a jar of roasted peppers
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 small yellow onion finely chopped
1 clove garlic minced
1 cup walnuts chopped
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
Salt & pepper to taste
*****
Roast bell peppers if using fresh over flame, BAR-B-Q or in oven.  Place in paper bag, sweat 5 minutes, peel, remove seeds and coarsely chop.
OR remove 2 large bell peppers from a jar of roasted peppers and coarsely chop. (I used jarred. Rome wasn’t built in a day, folks)!
In medium skillet heat oil over medium heat and add onion and garlic.  Cook, stirring often,  until softened – about 5 minutes.
In food processor combine peppers, onion/garlic mixture walnuts parsley and salt & pepper to taste.  Process till smooth.  (I used a magic bullet!)
Chill before serving.
*****
If you google roasted red pepper dip, you will come up with many that have spices like cumin in them. I may try that another time, but in the meantime, this will do very nicely!
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

