Getting Rid of Pounds. Week five.

17 May

I lost TWO POUNDS this week!

That puts me at 9 pounds lost in total, with 31 still to go.  I am almost done with the green pompoms and will be moving on to another colour!

With respect to my arrangement from last week, I need to lose three more pounds and I am off to get a pedicure.

This week I can say that both my eating and exercise were pretty good.  After the news from last week regarding my cholesterol, I was prepared to start starving myself.  Realistically, I knew that wouldn’t help me, so I went back to what works.

In the morning I have a shakeology with 1/2 a banana and a teaspoon of all natural peanut butter.  I snack on almonds and/or apple.  For lunch, I usually bring leftovers from the night before or some variation on a salad with protein. I also really like GF oatmeal with a teaspoon of natural peanut butter and natural strawberry jam. Tastes good!  My dinners have been grilled chicken with salad usually, but I have gone for Thai food and sushi.  I also went out and bought myself one of those Lindt 85% dark chocolate bars.  I hid it.  Every evening, I have one square.

As far as exercise, I am walking, walking, walking, and loving it! I love to walk. I’m one of those people out there “race” walking and it feels good.  I have my daughter’s iPod touch or my phone, put on my headphones and bop to the music as I walk around my neighbourhood for 30 to 40 minutes a day.  In fact, I haven’t even taken a day off!

The key, I think, is to be realistic. If you hate chicken and salad, then don’t eat chicken and salad. If you hate to walk, don’t walk. Find something that works for you and makes you happy!

I am glad that this all happened before going into the Victoria Day long weekend. Historically, this weekend is about opening the cottage and eating as much food as humanly possible, all day long, for several days straight.

To combat that, I am only going to the cottage from Friday to Sunday. While I do have things to do Sunday evening and Monday, it is also a good excuse to get back to normal sooner rather than later.  I am not going to beat myself up, but I am also going to stop and think before acting like an insane glutton.

As of now, that sums up where I am at.

How are you all doing?

Read all of my posts in my ongoing series about health and weight loss.

One Response to “Getting Rid of Pounds. Week five.”

  1. Sarah Louise Brandon May 17, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Keep up the good work! What are the pom poms for though? :) I know how hard it is to lose weight, I’ve lost 13lbs so far! With 15 more to go!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

