Do kids need Uggs and Canada Goose Jackets?

1 Feb

Does anyone remember BiWay? It was kind of a very small precursor to walmart. Now the buildings that the stores were in house things like Dollarama and Giant Tiger.

Biway logo

I remember coming home from school one day when I was about 8 or 9 years old and laying on my bed was a brand new outfit that included a t-shirt, and an acid watch jean skirt with a matching acid wash jean jacket.

That’s right. An ACID WASH jean skirt with the matching ACID WASH jean jacket.

I cried literal tears of joy I was that happy.

Yep, I can proudly say I happily cried about acid wash.

Fast forward just a few years (cough. cough.) and I had a daughter of my own. I KNEW that she was going to be a cool little cat, just like her mamma, but, like my own mom, I didn’t want to spend a fortune on clothes. I didn’t want to be a slave to labels.

And I failed miserably.

MISERABLY.

While I consider myself to be a pretty savvy shopper overall, I really feel like I, and my kids, have fallen prey to labels.

I always buy on sales, using coupons from the stores. I know that I can shop at places like the Gap when there are sales on using 30% off coupons and get a ton of stuff for a good price.

With a nine year old, I feel like I am up against Uggs, Hunter Boots, Abercrombie, Lululemon, TNA, Canada Goose, and more.

And it’s tough.

Mom, this is what I want to wear. This is what I NEED to wear.

I think a lot of it has to do with where I live and the time we live in. This kind of thing seems much more prevalent in today’s society then it was when I was a kid.

So I am forced to compromise. When my daughter wanted Hunter Boots, I told her she had to pay half. And she did. It showed me that she really wanted the boots, and it taught her the value of money and saving. We have made similar deals and will continue to make similar deals as she grows up.

At my kid’s school the other day, I saw a mother with kids wearing North Face jackets and I overheard her saying that she got her kids North Face because she really wants her kid to be warm.

Really?

Because people with kids in a walmart or Zellers or BIWAY coat want their kids to be cold.

So I struggle with this ridiculous consumerism. This stupidity. This keeping up with the Jones’.

And I struggle with wanting my kids to fit in. And be comfortable.

And I think it’s only going to get harder.

And I don’t know the right answer. Or the right way.

2 Responses to “Do kids need Uggs and Canada Goose Jackets?”

  1. wiebez February 1, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    I don’t have the answer either and struggle with this thought as well. I know as a teenager over a decade ago, silver jeans were “the” jeans to have and I babysat and saved and saved to have that one pair of silver jeans. Oh, its tough out there. I don’t want my child branded and left out for not having the “it” items but seriously, its SO hard on the bank account and there are SO many other ways to be resourceful rather then buying brand name items. Its tough. I’m with you on this one. Also, I really enjoyed the part about the north face jackets vs the wal mart/bi way jackets.

    • jexalt February 1, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      I totally remember silver jeans and getting my first pair. Like you, I saved for them!

      I totally eyerolled when I heard the bit about wanting their kid to be warm. :/

      Thanks for commenting and reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 753 other followers

