For the love of boy bands. I am a hypocrite.

29 Jan

Yesterday I wrote about boy bands and how I was over them.

I was wrong. Sort of.

Later in the day, I showed my 8 year old daughter the videos from NKOTB and Backstreet Boys and she was laughing and laughing and laughing. At them. And at me.

“Oh, mom, this is way too much. These songs and these guys are so lame”. I can’t believe this harsh music critic is my kid.

So I popped on One Direction to show her what her generation of boy band looked like. Turns out she likes Harry and found the song One Thing to be “not bad”. And I agreed. It’s a catchy song.

So I spent the next hour watching all of their performances on X Factor UK and they have it. IT.

Don’t get me wrong, they are children, and I still don’t FEEL that thing that I felt for New Kids and Backstreet (and N’Sync, O-Town, Take That, etc), but I can still appreciate a winning boy band when I see one. I just don’t really care.

And that’s how I spend a Saturday night.

Leave a Reply

