Panic Attacks. And then I got pregnant.

30 Jan

So I was talking about how panic attacks really suck.

I was rolling along having a really shitty time when I started doing some talk therapy along with medication. Initially saw a counsellor that I hooked up with through my EAP (Employee Assistance Program) through work. After that I started seeing a GP psychotherapist.

I really liked both. I gained insight and some useful tools and I was doing better. I never felt 100%, but I was nothing like how I been in the past. I could see friends easily and get through days with limited anxiety. I smiled and was often happy. My hospital bag was still packed by the door, but I rarely thought about it.

And then I decided to get pregnant again.

And I was great during my pregnancy. I swear I had few cares at all despite having a high risk pregnancy. I have a blood clotting disorder – prothrombin gene mutation – that had been discovered when my daughter was born 2 months premature. As a result, I was on fragmin (a blood thinner) and saw, in addition to my OB, a perinatologist and an internist. I was seen in the high risk pregnancy unit and seemed to have appointments all the time. My placenta had clots on it, and the blood flow to it wasn’t great. My blood pressure was high, I had to go off work, but I felt fine. I was at the hospital twice a week for monitoring and spent a week in the hospital prior to the birth of my son at 37 weeks, but mentally, I felt better than ever.

Once my son was over 1 month old it all started again.

If I thought I was bad before, it was nothing compared to how I was at this point.

Part 5 coming soon.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

3 Responses to “Panic Attacks. And then I got pregnant.”

  1. jg January 31, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    Wow, Jenn. So honest. Keep writing!

  2. jexalt January 31, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    Thanks so much! This has been hard, but good for me to get it out. Finally!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Panic Attacks. Post Partum Mood Disorder | Jenn's World - February 8, 2012

    […] Part 4 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in anxiety, anxiety attacks, mood disorders, new mothers, nursing, panic, panic attacks, post partum depression, postpartum depression, ppd. Bookmark the permalink. ← 8 is a good age for an existential crisis. […]

Leave a Reply

