Gluten Free?

12 Feb

I was recently visiting with Dr. Google, who diagnosed me with Celiac Disease or some sort of Gluten intolerance. I know, I know.

A few years ago, I had a colonoscopy due to some tmi factors but nothing was conclusive. I did not have the gluten blood test done (I don’t think), because the GI was looking more for Crohn’s or Colitis based on my symptoms. I was told it was likely Irritible Bowel Syndrome.

TMI alert.

Anyway, I go to the bathroom a lot. Like sometimes 10 times a day. In restaurants, at gas stations, in my office, at movie theatres, wherever. I feel bloated all the time and my stomach hurts a lot. I get headaches and canker sores. I go to the bathroom a lot.

I have been keeping track for a long time now and have noticed that I seem most affected after eating pasta or bread, foods that I eat a lot.  .

On Friday after much consultation with Dr. Google, I said goodbye to gluten. 

Today is Sunday and I am finding it difficult, but am hoping to get some relief.

As of now, I am just trying to eat protein and vegetables/fruit, nothing too fancy, as I go through what exactly contains gluten and what doesn’t. I am expecting to make a lot of mistake, but really hoping that this will help my stomach issues. 😉 

I am going to see my doctor about this as well, but in the meantime, I am looking forward to hopefully feeling better.

2 Responses to “Gluten Free?”

  1. Meaghan February 15, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    Hey Jenn!
    I am trying to be gluten free too…I have some of the same symptoms you have. I have found a few websites with interesting recipes:
    http://gluten-dairy-sugarfree.com/
    http://www.lifeglutenfree.com/mama_baby_gluten_free/entrees/

    There are actually so many resources online, it’s awesome.
    Hope you’re well!
    Bebe xo

    • jexalt February 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Bebe! When I got your comment in my email, I thought, “hey MY Meaghan spells her name that way”, and when I saw that it was you, I was so excited.

      Sorry to hear you’re having symptoms, but thanks for the websites, I really appreciate them, as I am trying to navigate my way through all the dos and don’ts right now.

      Hope the kids are doing well! xo

Leave a Reply

