I am freakin’ exhausted

19 Feb

I use the word vomit about five times in this post. You have been warned!

Last night TJ got sick. 

Dave was going out with friends so Alex, TJ and I decided that we would have a “sleepover”. We set up our living room with blankets and pillows and stuffed toys. We got yummy Kernels popcorn and picked out a few movies (and by “a few movies” I mean Footloose the old one and Footloose the new one). 😉

Just as Ren and Ariel started planning their outside of the town line dance, Tj stood up and announced “mom, I feel sick”, and promptly threw up.

All over the blanket. All over the pillow. All over the floor. All over himself. 

You know that moment when you wonder if you can make it to the bathroom with your kid in a football hold before they throw up again or if you should just use the already dirty blanket to catch the rest of the vomit? I chose the latter. Wisely, I believe, because there surely would have been a trail of vomit from the living  room, through the kitchen, the hall and into the bathroom.

Instead, TJ stood there vomiting while I tried to comfort him and catch the vomit in blankets.  And with my hands. /gross

Once he was done with the throwing up, I stripped him down and brought him up for a bath. I also tossed all of the dirty linens in the wash. Alex laid towels all over the room in case of another “situation”.

Bathed and cleaned, we all went back to our sleepover.

I was up at least every hour. Tj dry heaved several times. I did three loads of laundry. He took several baths.

4AM baths with a sick kid are not that fun. Strange that.

Today?

TJ is feeling better. Still tired and a bit glassy eyed, but much better. 

Me?

I feel like crap and I am tired times infinity.

But now my little snugglebug is permanently glued to me and taking care of me.

 

4 Responses to “I am freakin’ exhausted”

  1. Little Miss Kate February 20, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    Ohhh I hope everyone feels better soon, and that no one else gets sick. The stomach flu has really been making the rounds this year.
    Hope you got a nap today.
    Thanks for participating in SASS, hope to see you again next week

    • jexalt February 20, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      Thanks! I was a bit late and haven’t done much with SASS. I seem to have caught it now myself. 😦

  2. mamawee (ashley picco) February 20, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    tummy bugs are the worst…..glad he seems to be feeling better and hope none of you catch it

    SASS

    • jexalt February 20, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      I have a fever now, but hopefully will kick it as quick as he did!!

Leave a Reply

