Getting rid of pounds. First week.

19 Apr

I ended up seeing my doctor today and my blood pressure and weight were checked.   I am excited to share that my bp is now well under 140/90.  While I still need it to lower more, for the time being both myself and my doctor are taking it, particularly since I have lost weight and it’s dropped.

That’s right. I lost weight!

FIVE POUNDS!

My doctor was happy for me on both counts and really supportive.

What did I do?

Meal planning. I mentioned in my last post that I am a fan of meal planning.       Essentially I plan out six meals for during the week.

This week looked like:

Peppers stuffed with lean ground chicken, tomatoes, onions, and garlic.

Ratatouille with eggplant, zuchinni, tomatoes, mushrooms, peppers, garlic and cheese on top.

Roasted chicken with asparagas and eggplant on the side and a dip made from pumpkin seeds, dijon mustard, olive oil, pepper and garlic.

Chicken salad.

Chilli with lean ground chicken, red kidney beans and tomatoes, and cheese and sour cream on the side.

Chick peas with a tomato sauce and spices, side of salad and raw veggies and dip.

I went out for dinner twice for my daughter’s birthday.  One day we went to Lone Star for Tex Mex and I had tortilla chips and salsa and chicken.  The next night we had sushi and went for frozen yogurt after.

I continue to have a shake for breakfast and lots of raw veggies with hummus or other dips, almonds, cheese, eggs.

My exercise has been decent but not fabulous.  I need to work on toning up.

Wheat Belly is awesome and I am enjoying the lack of gluten and other things.  I legitimately feel satisfied and enjoy what I am eating.  In making most of my food from scratch, I am experiencing entire flavours and really loving it.

Tonight, my daughter had dance so my son and I hit up the mall. We wandered around together, he ate frozen yogurt, got “oh my gosh he is so cute” by the salesgirls at Aritzia, Bath and Body Works and Starbucks, and I tried on clothes. I felt kind of “meh” about what I tried on, mainly because I am between sizes right now. Five pounds isn’t really the time to get new clothes.  I will save that for 20 or 25.

In the meantime, I have a pair of jeans in my closet that I am using for inspiration!

How was your week?

Leave a Reply

