Getting rid of pounds. Week four. Cholesterol.

10 May

This week brings a double dose of the bad.

To start off small, I gained a pound. A pound. It doesn’t seem like a lot over the course of a journey, but it was enough to knock the wind of my proverbial sales.

On a “good” note, my period starts soon, so I can attribute the weight gain to that because, historically, I do retain water.

Now for the really bad stuff. I got my blood test results back from my physical and the news is somewhat grim. My cholesterol needs to be better.  I have had my cholesterol checked regularly during physicals and this is the first time something has come up. Talk about depressing.

From the Mayo Clinic, your cholesterol levels should be:

Total cholesterol
U.S. and some other countries Canada and most of Europe
Below 200 mg/dL Below 5.2 mmol/L Desirable
200-239 mg/dL 5.2-6.2 mmol/L Borderline high
240 mg/dL and above Above 6.2 mmol/L High
LDL cholesterol
U.S. and some other countries Canada and most of Europe
Below 70 mg/dL Below 1.8 mmol/L Ideal for people at very high risk of heart disease
Below 100 mg/dL Below 2.6 mmol/L Ideal for people at risk of heart disease
100-129 mg/dL 2.6-3.3 mmol/L Near ideal
130-159 mg/dL 3.4-4.1 mmol/L Borderline high
160-189 mg/dL 4.1-4.9 mmol/L High
190 mg/dL and above Above 4.9 mmol/L Very high
HDL cholesterol
U.S. and some other countries Canada and most of Europe
Below 40 mg/dL (men)
Below 50 mg/dL (women)
Below 1 mmol/L (men)
Below 1.3 mmol/L (women)
Poor
50-59 mg/dL 1.3-1.5 mmol/L Better
60 mg/dL and above Above 1.5 mmol/L Best
Triglycerides
U.S. and some other countries Canada and most of Europe
Below 150 mg/dL Below 1.7 mmol/L Desirable
150-199 mg/dL 1.7-2.2 mmol/L Borderline high
200-499 mg/dL 2.3-5.6 mmol/L High
500 mg/dL and above Above 5.6 mmol/L Very high

*********

My LDL (bad cholesterol) is 3.37 and it is considered “borderline high”.  I need to get it below 2, which can happen when I raise my HDL.  This can all be done via cardio exercise, proper diet, and weight loss.

My HDL (good cholesterol) is 1.17 which is considered “poor”.  
Fortunately, my triglycerides and total cholesterol are good.

Also fortunately, my blood pressure was 120/60.  I can take the small celebrations, right?

My doctor suggested a pound loss of 15.  She said that this would likely have the impact that I am looking for health wise.

Obviously, I want to lose more than 15 and will lose more, but for these 15 pounds, I am going to institute a reward system of sorts.

After I lose 5 pounds, I am getting a pedicure.  Now, I need a pedicure now and was considering getting one on the weekend.  That is off.

After I lose the next 5 pounds, I will get another pedicure. Because it will be time.

After I lose 15 total pounds, I will get a manicure/pedicure/facial.
Talk about a wake up. Again.  It is so insane to think how diet and exercise (or lack thereof) really start to affect a person as we get older.

Another area that I struggle with is exercise. I get really gung ho for a few weeks and then I fade.  I get bored, or busy, or both.  The funny thing is – I LIKE to exercise.  I genuinely enjoy how I feel and what I do when I am exercising.  I need to turn it into much more of a habit than it has been, to be honest.

I would write more, but to be honest, I just feel deflated all around.

2 Responses to “Getting rid of pounds. Week four. Cholesterol.”

  1. ❀ Marci O'Connor ❀ (@BeingMarci) May 10, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    we are on the EXACT same path, my friend!! the path to hotness & health!!! I know that feeling of defeat…but know that you’re not alone and also, this is SOOOO do-able and you WILL do it!! Ra Ra Ra!!!

    • jexalt May 10, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Thanks so much for commenting, Marci! I just feel so DOWN right now. I want to both crawl into bed and just cry for the next few days, and jump up and exercise and eat great. Ugh.

      Thanks so much for your support! It means the world to me!!

Leave a Reply

