Getting Rid of Pounds. Week Seven.

4 Jun

Yes. I skipped week six.  

And sort of week seven, because this is really week 7.5.

I don’t know why I stopped blogging exactly, except that I was on my THIRD round of antibiotics for a double ear and sinus infection and didn’t feel like doing much of anything.

Also, I stopped because my scale ate my batteries.

That’s right. My scale ate my batteries. For real!

My scale takes those thin, circle batteries and whenever I put one in, it seems to lodge out of place and then go into the abyss that is the middle of the scale.  I can shake the scale and hear my batteries, but I cannot get to them.  After I purchased several batteries, I finally thought about how ridiculous it was and decided to get a new scale, I just haven’t yet.

Any recommendations?

I do estimate based on my last doctor’s visit and how things are fitting me that I am likely at between 12 and 15 pounds total loss, but I will have to wait for my new scale to verify things.  Either way, I am looking and feeling better!

In the meantime, I found a yummy new snack that is available at a local bakery that carries a lot of gluten free products.  They had a few flavours available, including cappuccino, but I love apple, so that’s what I bought.  From the package, the company is called Paleo People and this snack is really tasty (I linked to the Canadian site, but if you click on .com, you will get the American site).  The woman at the bakery told me that she eats hers as a cereal with soy milk, but I prefer mine as a snack.  It is wheat and gluten free and it’s organic.  There doesn’t appear to be any added sugar based on the ingredients.  I gather that this product, based on the name (duh), is a part of the Paleo/Primal diet but it is perfect for gluten free eating.  

If you eat nut free, this is not the product for you.

The only downside? It was pretty expensive.  I might try to make my own, but it was really chewy so I’m not sure how it got that effect or if I could do it by myself.  You can order online, but the online price was the same as what the bakery was selling it for.

Either way, it was really good and I will likely buy it again.

And I also plan to return with my regularly scheduled Thursday post (ideally with a new scale), this coming Thursday!

*I have no connection to Paleo People, except that I randomly found their product, bought it, ate it and liked it.*

One Response to “Getting Rid of Pounds. Week Seven.”

  1. Mike June 8, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I’ve been following the Paleo/Primal lifestyle for the past few months and have been seeing a great deal of success. Please read about my story and the method I followed here: http://mikeshonestreviews.com/paleoprimal-diet-review

Leave a Reply

