Jenn’s week on – part 8

20 Dec

Read all the posts in Jenn’s Week On.

Sunday November 25th, 2012

My week on is quickly coming to an end.

It’s funny, because when I first went off, someone said to me “oh, so you’re not like sick sick”. I know what people are saying, but I AM sick. Depression, Anxiety, and Panic Disorder are illnesses. Despite being off this week, I have had several panic attacks, including one in the middle of the night last night. Overall, I no longer feel as acute as I did, but I don’t feel “cured”.

A lot of people don’t understand mental illness because they assume that it’s well… all in your head! That it is something that someone can get over. That it is something that smiling and bucking up will help. That it is something that everyone deals with at one time or another.

I would never say to someone with cancer “I know how you feel, I had a cold once”, so why is it ok to say “I know how you feel, I’ve been sad/stressed/anxious before”. No doubt that people have had these emotions before. But it’s not the same.

All that being said, I understand why people say things like that.

I also understand that there are ways to get better.

I am looking forward to going back to work and back to regular life but will be taking it a lot easier!

Leave a Reply

